Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) led by President George Weah became the largest force in both chambers of parliament. It won 25 seats in the 73-member House of Representatives and 6 of the 15 seats at stake in the 30-member Senate. The Unity Party (UP) led by former Vice President Joseph Boakai came second, taking 11 seats in the House and one seat in the Senate. No candidates won an outright majority in the first round of the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls. On 14 November, Mr. Boakai narrowly defeated Mr. Weah, who conceded defeat.

On 15 January 2024, the newly elected legislature held its first session. The House of Representatives elected Mr. Jonathan Fonati Koffa (CDC) as its new Speaker, while the Senate elected Ms. Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence (UP) as its new President pro tempore. On 22 January, Mr. Boakai was sworn in as the new President along with his deputy, Mr. Jeremiah Koung. Mr. Koung is also the new Senate President by virtue of holding the vice-presidency.

The 2023 elections were held against the backdrop of the war in Ukraine and high inflation. The key electoral issues included the economy, improvement to infrastructure, and investment in agriculture and tourism.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) 25
Unity Party (UP) 11
Collaborating Political Parties (CPP) 6
Movement for Democracy and Reconstruction (MDR) 4
People's Unification Party (PUP) 2
National Democratic Coalition (NDC) 1
Liberia Restoration Party (LRP) 1
Liberian National Union (LINU) 1
Movement for Progressive Change (MPC) 1
All Liberian Party (ALP) 1
Vision for Liberia Transformation (VOLT) 1
Independents 19
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Note on the first session of the new parliament:
The first session is held on the second working Monday of January following the elections.
Legislature (14.11.2023)
BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Jonathan Fonati Koffa (Male)
Political party
Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)
Date of election