House of Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
14.04.2020 to 22.04.2020
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The ruling Tobwaan Kiribati Party (TKP) remained the largest party, taking 13 of the 44 seats at stake in the 45-member House of Assembly (see note 1). After the elections, the Boutokaan te Koaua (BTK, led by former President Anote Tong, which took 8 seats) and the Kiribati Moa Party (or Kiribati First Party, KMP, led by Mr. Banuera Berina, which took 7 seats) merged to form the Boutokaan Kiribati Moa (BKM). By the first session of the newly elected Parliament, the TKP and BTK – with their members and respective allies – each held 22 seats.

On 22 May, the newly elected House of Assembly elected Ms. Tangariki Reete as its new Speaker, who thus became the first woman in Kiribati to assume the post (see note 2). She defeated the outgoing Speaker Tebuai Uaai (TKP). The House of Assembly endorsed two candidates for the presidential elections: The outgoing President Taneti Maamau (TKP) and Mr. Banuera Berina (BKM). On 22 June, Mr. Taneti Maamau (TKP) was re-elected President.

The 2020 elections (see note 3) were the first to be held after Kiribati had switched back allegiance from Taiwan to China in September 2019. In November, the then Chairperson of the TKP, Mr. Berina, defected from the TKP and formed the KMP, criticizing President Maamau’s decision to switch alliances. The move deprived the President of the parliamentary majority. The major electoral issue during the 2020 election campaign included climate change. President Maamau also pledged to boost the country’s tourism.

Note 1:
The new legislature comprises a total of 45 members instead of 46 previously: 44 directly elected members and one member appointed by the Banaban community (the vast majority of whom live on the island of Rabi in Fiji). The Attorney General is no longer ex officio member.

Note 2:
The Speaker is elected from among persons who are not members of parliament and does not become a member. Ms. Reete –former Minister of Women, Youth and Social Affairs –was a member in the outgoing legislature, representing the BTK.

Note 3:
The elections were initially called for 7 and 15 April but delayed by one week due to the COVID-19 situation.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Number of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Tobwaan Kiribati Party (TKP)
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Boutokaan Kiribati Moa (BKM) 22
Tobwaan Kiribati Party (TKP) 22
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
The distribution of seats according to political group above refers to the composition of parliament on 22 May 2020.

Note on the Timing of election:
General elections are due within three months of the dissolution of parliament (by i.e., May 2020).
House of Assembly (24.04.2020, 24.05.2020)
Radio Kiribati
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Tangarik Reete (Female)
Date of election