People's National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Delayed elections
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The Inclusive Alliance Platform/Terra Coalition (see note 1), led by former Prime Minister Domingos Simoes Pereira’s African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC), won the elections taking 54 seats in the 102-member People's National Assembly. The Movement for Democratic Alternation (MADEM-G15, see note 2), de facto led by President Umaro Sissoco Embalo, remained the second largest party with 29 seats. The number of women decreased from 14 (13.7%) to 10 (9.8%).

The 2023 elections followed the standoff between parliament and President Embalo (MADEM-G15), elected in 2019 (see note 3). In May 2023, he said he would not appoint Simoes Pereira to the office of prime minister even if the PAIGC were to secure all seats in parliament. The President is constitutionally required to appoint the Prime Minister in accordance with the electoral results and after consulting with political parties represented in the People’s National Assembly.

Note 1:
The coalition also includes the Union for Change (UM), the Democratic Convergence Party (PCD), the Guinean Democratic Movement (MDG) and the Social Democratic Party (PSD).

Note 2:
MADEM-G15 was initially established by former PAIGC members and is officially led by Mr. Braima Camara.

Note 3:
Guinea-Bissau has had a series of political turmoils due to the standoff between parliament and the President. The country plunged into political turmoil again after the presidential election runoffs held in December 2019 between Mr. Embalo (MADEM-G15) and Mr. Simoes Pereira (PAIGC). Mr. Embalo, who was ultimately declared elected, dismissed the then Prime Minister Aristides Gomes (PAIGC) and appointed Mr. Nuno Nabiam (United People's Assembly, APU) in his stead. The standoff between President Embalo and the 2019 legislature dominated by PAIGC continued through 2020 and 2021, in particular over constitutional amendments proposed by the President. There were coup attempts in October 2021 and in February 2022. 
In May 2022, President Embalo dissolved parliament and called early parliamentary elections for December 2022, citing “persistent and unresolvable differences” with parliament. However, the President postponed the elections twice which were finally held on 4 June 2023, more than one year after the initial dissolution and beyond the four-year term of the People's National Assembly.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Inclusive Alliance Platform/Terra Coalition 54
Movement for Democratic Alternation (MADEM G.15) 29
Party for Social Renewal (PRS) 12
Bissau-Guinean Workers’ Party 6
Assembly of the People United - Democratic Party of Guinea-Bissau (APU-PDGB) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Note on the timing of election:
The four-year term of the 2019 legislature started on 18 April 2019 and expired on 17 April 2023.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Domingos Simões Pereira (Male)
Political party
African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC)
Date of election