National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
No party secured a majority in the 137-member National Assembly. According to preliminary results, the Citizens’ Revolution (RC) movement, led by ex-president Rafael Correa, came first, taking 51 seats. Movimiento Construye (MC25), led by Mr. Iván González Vascónez, came second with 28 seats. The Acción Democrática Nacional (AND) party, led by presidential candidate Mr. Daniel Noboa, obtained 14 seats. Other parties won fewer than 10 seats each.

No candidate was elected in the first round of the presidential elections (see note 1), which were held in parallel with the parliamentary polls. Ms. Luisa González (RC), a close ally of former President Correa, who promised to revive the latter’s social programmes, and Mr. Noboa (ADN), the son of a prominent businessman, advanced to the run offs. On 15 October, Mr. Noboa won the run-off elections. On 23 November, he was sworn in as the new President, (becoming the youngest person to hold this position in Ecuador). The new President succeeded President Guillermo Lasso of the Creating Opportunities Movement (CREO, see note 2).

The snap elections in 2023 followed the dissolution of the National Assembly in May 2023. For the first time under the 2008 Constitution, President Lasso invoked "muerte cruzada" (mutual death), a clause that allows the President to dissolve the National Assembly and rule by decree until elections are held to renew both the legislative and executive branches. The President used the clause when the National Assembly was about to impeach him (note 3). Parliamentary and presidential elections were constitutionally due by 2025.

The 2023 elections were held amid political turmoil and were overshadowed by violence. On 9 August, Mr. Fernando Villavicencio, the presidential candidate for Movimiento Construye, who had campaigned on an anti-corruption platform, was shot dead. Violence pushed insecurity to the centre of the election campaigning. Other key electoral issues included future oil exploitation and mining –issues of referendums held in parallel with the snap elections.

The Electoral Observation Mission of the Organization of American States (EOM/OAS) noted that despite tensions in the pre-electoral phase, no major incidents had been reported on the polling day in Ecuador. It also noted a low turnout for the first-ever online voting (telematic voting) used for six seats to be elected by Ecuadorians abroad. Only 41.7% of nearly 124,000 registered voters took part. The EOM/OAS added that the low participation may have in part been due to technical issues with the telematic voting system, which may have prevented many people from voting. It recommended that the election commission give serious, in-depth consideration as to whether that voting method really guaranteed the right of Ecuadorians abroad to vote. On 25 August, the election commission announced that voting abroad would be repeated in the three constituencies abroad (for six seats), without specifying the date of the re-run.

Note 1:
To avoid a run-off election, presidential candidates need to obtain 40% of the vote and hold at least a 10% advantage over their nearest rival.

Note 2:
The new President will serve out the remainder of Mr. Lasso’s term which is due to end in 2025. Similarly, the National Assembly elected in 2023 will serve out the remaining term of the outgoing legislature, i.e. until 2025.

Note 3:
On 9 May 2023, the National Assembly voted to proceed with an impeachment motion against President Lasso over alleged corruption cases, which the President denied. The motion was submitted by the opposition members aligned with ex-president Correa. On 17 May, the President dissolved the National Assembly, stating that he had taken the decision because of the severe political crisis.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Citizen Revolution Movement (RC) 51
Movimiento Construye (MC25) 28
National Democratic Action (ADN) 14
Social Christian Party (PSC) 8
Let’s Act 8
Pachakutik 4
Christian Social Party (PSC) / “Madera de Guerrero” Civic Movement (MDG) 4
Of Course It Can Be Done 3
Patriotic Society Party "21 January" (PSP) 1
Total Renewal Movement (RETO) 1
Democratic Center 1
Independent Mobilizing Action Generating Opportunities (AMIGO) 1
Alliance For Renewal 1
NAPO Alliance Without Fear PSP LIST3-PSC LIST 6 1
Alliance For a Country Without Fear 1
Alliance “United We Are More” 1
Alliance “Sucumbios, Land of the Brave” 1
Good People 1
MAS Amazon “We sow” Movement 1
Peninsular “We Believe in Our People” Movement 1
United Political Movement for Pastaza 1
“Join” Provincial Movement 1
“Seed” Movement 1
Continue Making History 1
We Are 18-33 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Henry Kronfle (Male)
Political party
Social Christian Party (PSC)
Date of election