Democratic Republic of the Congo

SenateNational Assembly

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Felix Tshisekedi’s Sacred Union of the Nation coalition (USN, see note 1) and its allies won a total of 450 seats out of 477 confirmed seats (see note 2) in the 500-member National Assembly. Sixty-one women were elected. In the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, President Tshisekedi was re-elected with 73% of votes in the first round, defeating, among others, Mr. Moise Katumbi of Together for the Republic, which won 18 seats in the National Assembly. 

The 2023 elections were held amid several conflicts involving the Allied Democratic Forces (ADF) and M23. The major electoral issues included inflation (brought on by global price increases due to the war in Ukraine) and unemployment. Over 80% of youth are unemployed, and young people account for 70% of the country’s 111 million-strong population. President Tshisekedi promised to create 6.4 million new jobs. Due to logistical problems, many polling stations opened late, and voting was extended into a second day. Several opposition candidates, including Mr. Katumbi, rejected the results.

Note 1:
The USN includes President Tshisekedi’s Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS), which itself won 69 seats.

Note 2:
The 2023 elections were not held in part of Nord-Kivu, which has been affected by conflict linked to M23. Results from several constituencies were annulled because of allegations of fraud. There are also several electoral disputes pending. The Constitutional Court is due to announce final results in March 2024 after reviewing those disputes.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Union for Democracy and Social Progress/TSHISEKEDI (UDPS/TSHISEKEDI) 69
Action of Allies and Union for the Congolese Nation (A/A-UNC) 35
Alliance of Democratic Forces of Congo and Allies (AFDC-A) 35
Act and Build (AB) 26
Action of Allies/All for the Development of the Congo (2A/TDC) 21
Alliance of Stakeholders for the People (AAAP) 21
Alliance Bloc 50 (A/B50) 20
Congo Liberation Movement (MLC) 19
Together for the Republic (ENSEMBLE) 18
Alternative Action of Stakeholders for the Love of the Congo (4AC) 16
Alliance for the Advent of a Prosperous and Great Congo (AACPG) 16
Alliance 2024 (A24) 15
For Us to Build the Congo (ANB) 13
Action of Allies for the Convention (AA/C) 10
Coalition of Democrats (CODE) 9
Action of Allies of the Convention for the Republic and Democracy (AACRD) 9
Alliance of Progressive Congolese and Allies (ACP-A) 9
Action for National Unity (AUN) 8
Audible Actions for Good Governance (AABG) 8
Alliance for Democratic Alternance and Allies (AAD-A) 8
Action of Allies for the Rise of the Congo (AAeC) 7
Action of Allies for the Convention and Unified Lumumbist Party (AAC/PALU) 7
Alliance for the Triple A and Allies (A3A) 7
Alliance of Nationalists (AN) 7
Alliance for Values (AV) 7
Alliance of Solidarity Movements for Change (AMSC) 6
Alliance of Unified Tshisekedists and Allies (ATUA) 6
Forward-MS (AVANCONS-MS) 5
Another Vision of Congo and Allies (AVC-A) 5
Christian Alternative for the Congo (A1) 4
Political Forces Allied with UDPS (FPAU) 4
Alliance and Action for the Rule of Law (AE) 4
New Momentum (NOU.EL) 3
Alternative Vital Kamerhe 2018 (A/VK2018) 3
Alliance 2025 (A25) 3
Progressive Revolutionary Dynamic (DYPRO) 3
Union for Democracy and Social Progress/KIBASSA and Allies (UDPS/KIBASSA-A) 2
Alliance for the Reform of the Republic (A2R) 2
Alliance of Political Parties Allied to the Congo Liberation Movement (APA/MLC) 2
Action for the Federative Cause (APCF) 2
Alliance for Development Actions of the Congo and Allies (AADC-A) 1
Alliance for the Rise and Democracy of the Congo and Allies (AEDC-A) 1
Leadership and Governance for Development (LGD) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Preliminary results.
There are 23 vacancies.
National Assembly (26.01.2024)
Fiche Détermination Seuil de Représentativité - Députation Nationale - Résultats Provisoires
BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.