Burkina Faso

Transitional Legislative Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
On 30 September 2022, soldiers led by Captain Ibrahim Traoré staged a second coup, ousting transitional President Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba. The new coup leaders announced the suspension of the Constitution and transitional charter, as well as the dissolution of the government and the Transitional Legislative Assembly.

Following a national forum, which ended on 14 October, Captain Traoré signed a new transitional charter and an act confirming him as Head of State, President and Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces. The Transitional Charter provides for a 21-month transitional period from 2 October 2022 (i.e., until July 2024).

The new Transitional Charter provides for a 71-member Transitional Legislative Assembly, which will comprise the following representatives:

- Persons designated by the Head of State, including one internally displaced person and one Burkinabe from abroad: 20
- Persons who are not affiliated to a political party or movement, designated by prominent regional stakeholders (one person per region): 13
- Persons representing political parties and movements as follows: four people from the former Alliance of Political Parties of the Majority; four from the former leading opposition movement; two from the former unaffiliated opposition; and two from other parties: 12
- Persons designated by the security and defence forces, taking account of all groups of combatants: 16
- Persons representing civil society organizations as follows: two people from the private sector; two from the agricultural sector; two young people; two women; and two people with a disability: 10

On 11 November 2022, the new 71-member Transitional Legislative Assembly, which includes 12 women, took office (see note). It elected Mr. Ousmane Bougouma, a university professor, as its President.

The Transitional Legislative Assembly (TLA), established in March 2022, was appointed by decree of the Transitional President. However, a different mode of designation was applied to the new TLA established in October 2022. A commission of inquiry and deliberation validated the credentials of the candidates designated by various groups, as foreseen in Article 14 of the October 2022 Transitional Charter (see above). After validation by the commission, its President submitted the list of 71 persons to the Secretary General of the TLA, Ms. Valérie Simporé Soubeiga. She then convened the inaugural session of the new TLA, during which the mandate of the new TLA members was confirmed.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Transitional Legislative Assembly (25.11.2022, 09.01.2023, 24.01.2023)
Women Appointed

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Ousmane Bougouma (Male)
Date of election