Parliament of Tuvalu

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Prime Minister Kausea Natano was ousted in the 2024 elections, which once again saw a high turnover. Six new members were elected to the 16-member Parliament (see note 1). The new members include former Governor General Sir Iakoba Taeia Italeli, and Feleti Teo (former executive director of the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission). The sole woman member in the 2015 and 2019 legislatures was voted out. On 26 February, the newly elected Parliament elected Mr. Teo as the new Prime Minister. He pledged to retain the country’s diplomatic relationship with Taiwan.

The 2024 elections were the first to be held after the adoption of the new Constitution by Parliament in September 2023 (see note 2). Key electoral issues in 2024 included the country’s diplomatic relationships with Taiwan and Australia. Prime Minister Natano pledged to continue support for Taiwan, a diplomatic ally since 1979. The former Prime Minister and current opposition leader, Enele Sopoaga, who supported the diplomatic alliance with Taiwan while in office, said a security deal with Australia should be scrapped. Other premiership contenders said diplomatic ties with Taiwan should be reviewed, without calling for a suspension of relations.

Note 1:
There are no political parties in Tuvalu. All candidates stand as independents.

Note 2:
The Constitution of Tuvalu Act 2023 came into effect on 1 October 2023, which marked the 45th Anniversary of Tuvalu’s independence. The 2023 Constitution includes a new section on votes of no confidence. Article 113 stipulates that these votes cannot be held within the first 12 months from the date of the general election or 12 months before a dissolution of parliament.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Note on the timing of election:
Article 90 of the Constitution stipulates a general election should be held after one month but not later than three months after every dissolution of Parliament.
Since the 2019 legislature was dissolved on 27 November 2023 and the new elections were held on 26 January 2024, they were held within the constitutional deadline.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Sir Iakoba Taeia Italeli (Male)
Date of election