Legislative Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
At the 2021 polls, 12 new members were elected to the Legislative Assembly, which currently comprises 27 members (see note). No women were elected, down from two at the previous elections held in 2017. Although there are no political parties in Tonga, some candidates ran under the banner of two political groups in 2021: the Democratic Party of the Friendly Islands (PTOA) and the Tonga People's Party (TPP). Three members were elected under PTOA tickets, while one of its leaders, Mr. Siaosi Pohiva – the son of the late Prime Minister 'Akilisi Pohiva – lost the seat that his father had held for more than three decades. Prime Minister Pohiva Tu'i'onetoa was elected under the TPP banner.

On 15 December, the newly elected Legislative Assembly held its first session and elected the former Deputy Prime Minister, Siaosi Sovaleni (independent), as the new Prime Minister. He defeated Mr. 'Aisake Eke (independent) who was backed in turn by the outgoing Prime Minister, Pohiva Tu'i'onetoa.

The elections were held for 17 directly elected seats (people) and 9 indirectly elected seats (nobles). Nine of the 17 commoners and 3 of the 9 nobles were newly elected to the Legislative Assembly.
In addition, all members of the Cabinet (which may include no more than four people who are not elected to the Legislative Assembly) sit in the Legislative Assembly. The new Cabinet, formed on 29 December 2021, included one (woman) non-elected member, thereby increasing the total number of members in the Legislative Assembly to 27.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
- The Legislative Assembly is composed of representatives of the nobles (currently 9), representatives of the people (currently 17) and all members of the Cabinet. The Cabinet may include no more than four people who are not elected to the Legislative Assembly.
- No women were elected at the elections in November 2021.
- The Cabinet formed in December 2021 included one non-elected person, Mrs. Fekitamoeloa 'Utoikamanu, as the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Tourism. There was thus one woman among the 27-member Legislative Assembly.
Other notes
Note on the first Speaker of the new legislature:
On 20 November 2021, King Tupou VI appointed Lord Tangi as the interim Speaker. Lord Tangi has been tasked with leading the constitutional process to elect the Prime Minister Designate, who himself will be officially elected by the Legislative Assembly. The Speaker of the outgoing legislature Lord Fakafanua was re-elected as the Speaker when the new legislature convened on 15 December.
Women Directly Elected
Women Indirectly Elected
Women Other

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Lord Fakafanua (Male)
Date of election