House of RepresentativesSenate

House of Representatives

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
No party won a majority in the 500-member House of Representatives. Opposition parties fared well: the Move Forward Party came first, winning 151 seats, or ten more than the Pheu Thai Party (see note 1). The Bhumjaithai Party, led by Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul, increased its share of seats to 71 and finished third. Other parties supporting the incumbent Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha lost seats: Palang Pracharath finished fourth, while his United Thai Nation Party finished fifth (see note 2). The number of women increased from 79 (15.8%) to 96 (19.2%).

On 23 May, the Move Forward Party signed a coalition agreement with seven other parties including Pheu Thai (see note 3). The coalition jointly holds 313 seats. In accordance with the transitional provisions of the 2017 Constitution, the new Prime Minister is elected jointly by the House of Representatives and the Senate for the first five years after the date of installation of the first National Assembly in 2019. 

The 2023 elections were the first to be held after the 2021 constitutional amendments. The number of constituency seats has increased from 350 to 400 while the number of members elected under the proportional representation system decreased from 150 to 100. During the election campaigning, the major parties focused on minimum wage, medical marijuana, the new constitution as well as the country’s strict lese majeste laws, which the Move Forward Party promised to amend.

Note 1:
The Move Forward Party is led by Mr. Pita Limjaroenrat. It includes members of the Future Forward Party, which was dissolved by the Constitutional Court decision of 2020. 
Pheu Thai comprises supporters of former Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra, who was ousted in the 2014 coup. His daughter, Paetongtarn Shinawatra, contested the election as one of three premiership candidates. 

Note 2:
The Palang Pracharath Party supported Mr. Prayut Chan-o-cha in the 2019 elections. Amid fear of the party’s possible dissolution, the Prime Minister established the United Thai Nation Party in 2021. 

Note 3:
The other coalition parties are: Thai Sang Thai, Prachachat, Thai Liberal Party (Seri Ruam Thai), Pheu Thai Ruam Palang, Fair Party, and the New Social Power Party (Plung Sungkom Mai).
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Move Forward 151
Pheu Thai 141
Bhumjaithai 71
Palang Pracharath 40
United Thai Nation 36
Democrat Party 25
Chart Thai Pattana 10
Prachachart 9
Thai Sang Thai 6
Chart Pattana Kla 2
Pheu Thai Ruam Palang 2
Fair Party 1
New Democracy 1
New Party 1
New Social Power Party 1
Teachers for People 1
Thai Counties 1
Thai Liberal Party 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
In all, 96 women were elected in the May 2023 elections. The number of women decreased to 94 after two women, elected under the proportional representation system, were replaced by male members in July 2023. Additionally, a male member elected under the majority system resigned. This vacancy is to be filled in a by-election.
As at 10 August 2023, there were 94 women out of 499 members with one vacancy.
Other notes
Note on the timing of election:
The four-year term of the 2019 legislature started on 24 May 2019. It was dissolved with effect on 20 March 2023. Under the Constitution, polls must be held between 45 and 60 days after the dissolution.
House of Representatives (21.06.2023, 04.07.2023, 10.08.2023)
BBC Monitoring
Thailand: 2023 general election and possible outcomes, The (UK) House of Commons Library
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Wan Muhamad Noor Matha (Male)
Political party
Prachachart Party
Date of election