House of AssemblySenate

House of Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Political parties are banned.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Pro-royalist candidates fared well in the 2023 elections to the House of Assembly. According to the Government, more than 500,000 people, or 91% of the eligible population, registered to vote. Political parties are banned in the kingdom of about 1.2 million people. Thus all candidates ran as independents. Eight women were elected in 2023 (up from two in 2018) and four women were appointed by the King.

The 2023 elections were the first to be held after the 2021 pro-democracy movement, which the security forces had tried to suppress. Participants in the movement demanded electoral reforms that would allow them to choose their own prime minister. Two members of the previous parliament who supported the pro-democracy movement were jailed, and a third fled the country. A large part of the opposition called for a boycott ahead of the vote. On 3 November, King Mswati appointed Mr. Russell Mmemo Dlamini as the new Prime Minister, replacing Mr. Cleopas Dlamini, who had assumed the premiership following the 2021 protests.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
- The House of Assembly elected in 2023 comprises 59 directly elected members, including the Speaker.
- The 2005 Constitution stipulates that the House of Assembly will elect one woman from each of the four regions of the country in cases where the proportion of women is less than 30% of the total membership of Parliament (the House of Assembly and the Senate).
- In accordance with the Election of Women Members to the House of Assembly Act (Act No. 09 of 2018), four additional women were elected in December 2023. The House of Assembly thus comprises 16 women out of 74 members.
Other notes
Political parties are banned.
Women Directly Elected
Women Indirectly Elected
Women Appointed

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Jabulani Mabuza (Male)
Date of election