Shura Council

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
A total of 233 candidates, including 26 women, ran in the first ever elections to the 45-member Shura Council (see note). All candidates stood as independents in the country’s 30 single-member constituencies. Turnout was 63.5% according to the Ministry of Interior, which did not publish detailed figures. No women were elected, while two women were appointed by the Emir. On 26 October, Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani convened the newly elected Shura Council. It elected Mr. Hassan Abdullah Al Ghanim as its new Speaker and Ms. Hamda bint Hassan al-Sulaiti as one of the Deputy Speakers. The new Shura Council serves a four-year term (previously three).

Qatar has played a major role in mediating between the US and the Taliban in recent years. The 2021 elections followed the Taliban’s takeover of Afghanistan in August. During the inaugural session of the new Shura Council, the Emir reiterated Qatar’s “adherence to dialogue as an alternative to wars”. He also commended health institutions, saying that they had “successfully passed the difficult test posed by the coronavirus”.

The 2003 Constitution provides for a 45-member Shura Council, comprising 30 elected members and 15 appointed members. In November 2011, the then Emir, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, announced parliamentary elections would be held in the second half of 2013. However, they were postponed indefinitely shortly before the then Emir handed power to his son, Crown Prince Sheikh Tamim (the current Emir). Members of the Shura Council continued to be appointed by Emiri decree: 35 male members were appointed in 2013 and 2016. In 2017, the number of members increased to 41, including 4 women.
On 9 August 2021, the Emir issued three laws related to parliamentary elections, paving the way for the first ever polls: Laws No. 6 of 2021 (on the issuance of the Shura Council’s electoral system law), No. 7 of 2021 (on the Shura Council), and No. 37 of 2021 (on the electoral districts of the Shura Council and their respective regions). Qatari citizens over 18 years old were allowed to vote, and native Qataris over 30 years of age were allowed to stand for election.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Note on the alternation of power
The monarchy.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Note on the timing of election:
First ever elections. Elections to the Shura Council (formerly known as the Advisory Council) had previously been announced for 2013 but were postponed indefinitely. 
In 2016, the term of the then 35-member Shura Council was extended by three years to June 2019. An Emiri Decree of November 2017 appointed a new 41-member Shura Council, which sat until the 2021 elections. 

Note on the expected date of next elections:
The new Shura Council will serve a four-year term (previously three). The next elections are therefore expected in 2025.
Women Directly Elected
Women Appointed

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Hassan Abdullah Al Ghanim (Male)
Date of election