Congress of the Republic

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
As in the previous elections, no parties secured a majority in the 130-member Congress in 2021. The Free Peru (PL), led by Mr. Pedro Castillo, came first with 37 seats. The Popular Force (FP), led by Ms. Keiko Fujimori and the Popular Action (AP), led by Mr. Yonhy Lescano, came second and third respectively. The number of women increased from 34 (26.15%) in 2020 to 52 (40%) in 2021. The newly elected Congress held its first session on 26 July and elected Ms. María del Carmen Alva Prieto (AP) as its new Speaker.

In the presidential elections held in parallel, no candidates secured the required majority to be elected in the first round of voting. In the run-off elections held on 6 June, Mr. Castillo (PL) narrowly defeated Ms. Fujimori (FP). Ms. Fujimori, who initially contested the results for alleged fraud, accepted the final results announced on 19 July. On 28 July, Mr. Castillo was sworn in as the new President (see note). The following day, he appointed Mr. Guido Bellido (PL) as the Prime Minister. On 27 August, the Congress approved Mr. Bellido’s Cabinet. 

The 2021 elections were held amid the second wave of the COVID-19 pandemic which hit hard the country. Its economy contracted 12.9 per cent in 2020. During the election campaigning, the major parties focused on the post-COVID-19 economic recovery and reforms related to the key mining sector.

Prior to the presidential elections and swearing in of Mr. Castillo as President, Peru saw two interim Presidents following the impeachment of the then President Martín Vizcarra on 9 November 2020, which prompted street protests. After Speaker Manuel Merino (Popular Action) resigned as President on 15 November, Congress elected Mr. Francisco Sagasti of the Purple Party as the new President.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Free Peru (PL) 37
Popular Force (FP) 24
Popular Action (AP) 16
Alliance for Progress (APP) 15
Go on Country - Social Integration Party (AvP) 10
Popular Renewal (RP) 9
"We Are Peru" (SP) - Purple Party (PM) 9
Podemos Perú (PP) 5
Together for Peru (JP) 5
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Note on the timing of election:
The outgoing legislature elected in January 2020 served out the five-year term of the 2016 legislature which had been dissolved on 30 September 2019.

Note on the number of parties winning seats:
“Parties or coalitions winning seats” above refers to the composition of the new Congress which convened in July 2021 and which comprised nine parliamentary groups. "We Are Peru" (SP) and Purple Party (PM) fielded their candidates separately. There were thus ten parties which won parliamentary representation in 2021. 

Note on the Alternation of power:
Presidential system. However, there was one President and two interim Presidents since the previous elections.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
María del Carmen Alva Prieto (Female)
Political party
Popular Action (AP)
Date of election