Micronesia (Federated States of)


Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
As there are no political parties in Micronesia, all candidates to the 14-member Congress stand as independents. Twelve outgoing members were re-elected. They include the outgoing Speaker Wesley W. Simina, former Speaker Isaac Figir as well as former President Peter Christian. A record two women were elected (see note). Shortly after the election, the incumbent President David Panuelo, who lost his seat in the Congress, suggested severing diplomatic ties with China in favour of Taiwan. The outgoing legislature subsequently reaffirmed the country’s diplomatic ties with China.

On 11 May, the newly elected Congress held its first session and elected Mr. Esmond B. Moses as its new Speaker. It then elected the outgoing Speaker, Mr. Wesley W. Simina, as the new President of the Republic.

No women were elected in the previous elections held in March 2021. In November 2021, Ms. Perpetua S. Konman won the by-election to fill the seat vacated by her late husband, thereby becoming the first-ever woman to be elected in the history of the FSM Congress. She was re-elected in 2023 along with another woman candidate.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Other notes
Note on the expected date of next elections:
All general elections for the Congress are held biennially in each odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in March.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Esmond B. Moses (Male)
Date of election