National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
13.05.2023 to 27.05.2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The El Insaf party, de facto led by President Mohamed Ould Cheikh El Ghazouani, won the elections with 107 seats in the 176-member National Assembly (see note). The National Rally for Reform and Development (Tawassoul), an opposition Islamist party led by Mr. Hamady Ould Sid El Moctar, remained the second largest party in the new legislature with 11 seats. Other small pro-government parties won over 40 seats. 

The early parliamentary elections in 2023 were the first to be held under President Mohamed Ould Cheikh El Ghazouani, elected in 2019 in a first peaceful transition of power. The elections followed the agreement between the government and parties in September 2022 to renew the Independent National Electoral Commission (CENI) and hold the elections in the first semester of 2023 for climatic and logistical reasons. Elections were constitutionally due in September 2023. After the first round of the elections, several opposition parties complained of “massive fraud”. The CENI strongly refuted the allegation. 

The statutory number increased from 157 to 176 in accordance with the law adopted by the Government in January 2022. The law stipulates that 88 seats are filled from constituencies with one or two seats following a two-round majority system and the remaining 88 seats are filled from constituencies with more than three seats following the proportional representation list system. 
In accordance with Organic Law 2023-013, published in the Official Journal on 23 February 2023, 20 seats are reserved for women candidates who are elected from a single nationwide list and 11 other seats are reserved for young candidates (aged between 25 and 35) who are also elected from a single nationwide list. Further, the CENI is required to establish a mechanism that will guarantee access to the National Assembly to the two disabled deputies who are elected under the proportional representation system. Organic Law 2023-012, published in the same Official Journal, stipulates that the four seats reserved for Mauritanians abroad (one seat each for Africa, Asia, Europe, and America) are now directly elected by Mauritanians abroad rather than indirectly by the National Assembly.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Mohamed Bamba Ould Meguett (Male)
Political party
Equity Party (El Insaf)
Date of election